Litchfield Jazz Festival & Jazz Camp

Calendar

Calendar

Upcoming Events

Kent Has That Jazz -- A month of FREE Concerts Presented by Litchfield Jazz Fest


Array.event_title
WHEN: July 11, 7:15 –
Aug 06, 2011 - 1:00
LOCATION:   KENT, CT
Details:

This FREE Series runs from July 11 – August 6 and features Litchfield Jazz Camp’s award-winning faculty and highlights talented Camp students. Professional faculty perform at 7:15 PM 3-4 nights a week at Kent School’s Mattison Auditorium, and Jazz Camp students on Tuesday and Wednesday evenings from 6-8:30 PM and Saturday afternoons at various venues around Kent, CT.

This is a unique opportunity to hear some of the best jazz players in the industry as well as up-and-coming talent in an intimate setting free of charge. If you feel inspired, a free will donation will support Litchfield Jazz Camp need-based scholarship students. 

Professionals will include Litchfield Jazz Camp teaching artists trumpeter Dave Ballou, bassists Mario Pavone, Avery Sharpe and Marcus McLaurine, pianists Junior Mance, Onaje Allen Gumbs and Helen Sung, guitarists Paul Bollenback, Dave Stryker and Roni Ben-Hur, drummers Matt Wilson, Charli Persip and Ignacio Berroa, saxophonists Kris Allen, Claire Daly, Mike DiRubbo, Wayne Escoffery and Gary Smulyan, vocalists Kevin Mahogany and Lisanne Lyons, and many more.  Click here to see the complete line-up each night. 


CLICK HERE
to watch faculty perform "In a Mellow Tone," from 2010. 

DATES AND VENUES:

Litchfield Jazz Camp Faculty Concerts | Mattison Auditorium, Kent School
7:15 - 8:45 PM


Monday July 11                Monday July 25
Tuesday July 12               Tuesday July 26
Wednesday July 13          Thursday July 28
Thursday July 14              Monday August 1
Monday July 18                Tuesday August 2
Tuesday July 19               Wednesday August 3
Wednesday, July 20
Thursday July 21

Click here to see Concert Line-up / Which faculty will perform each night.

Litchfield Jazz Camp Student Performances
Various Venues, Kent, CT

Doc’s Trattoria
Tuesday, July 12, 6 – 8:30 PM
Tuesday, July 19, 6 – 8:30 PM
Tuesday, July 26, 6 – 8:30 PM
Tuesday, August 2, 6 – 8:30 PM
Friday, August 5, 10:00 PM – 1AM – After Party & Jam Session
Featuring and led by Andrew Hadro Quartet

Fife ‘n Drum Restaurant
Wednesday July 13, 6 – 8:30 PM
Wednesday July 20, 6 – 8:30 PM
Wednesday July 27, 6 – 8:30 PM
Saturday, August 6, 10:30 PM – 1AM – After Party & Jam Session Featuring and led by Albert Rivera Quartet

Millstone Cafe
Saturday, July 23, 1:30 – 3:30 PM

Richard J. Lindsey, Bookseller
Saturday, July 16, 1:30 – 3:30 PM
Saturday, July 30, 1:30 – 3:30 PM
Note: July 30 performance is part of the Kent Sidewalk Festival weekend July 28-31. Don't miss all the great activities and sales.  Details on KentCT.com.

Click to see Kent has that Jazz Postcard. 

For details and more information call 860-361-6285. 

Photo of piano faculty member Junior Mance by student Dale Rothenberg.