Litchfield Jazz Festival & Jazz Camp



FREE "Kent Has That Jazz" Concerts Kicked-Off July 12. One Week Left!

Date Posted: Jul 8, 2010
The Litchfield Jazz Festival is proud to announce a month of free concerts throughout July and August – “Kent Has That Jazz – Presented by the Litchfield Jazz Festival.” Last summer’s concerts were so well received by the community, the series has been expanded. Part 1 of the series features Litchfield Jazz Camp’s award-winning faculty. Part 2 highlights talented Litchfield Jazz Camp students.
Category: Festival
Posted by: lturner

Litchfield Jazz Camp Faculty Concerts will be held at Kent School’s Mattison Auditorium, One Macedonia Road (Route 341) in Kent from July 12 through August 4Litchfield Jazz Camp students will perform in various locations in Kent throughout the month.  Every Tuesday from July 13 – August 3 at Doc’s Trattoria (9 Maple) and every Wednesday at the Fife ‘n Drum (53 N. Main) from July 14 – August 4, there will be live jazz by Jazz Camp students from 6:30 – 9:00 PM with no cover charge.  Every Saturday from July 17-31, Jazz Camp students will play outdoors in the town center--  Saturday July 17 and 31 at the Library Summer Book Sale (32 N. Main) from 1:30 – 3:30 PM, Saturday July 24 at the Farmers Market (Kent Green) from 10 AM – 12 PM, and Saturday, July 31 at Richard J. Lindsey Bookseller (15 N. Main) from 2 – 3 PM.

This is a unique opportunity to hear some of the best jazz players in the industry as well as up-and-coming talent in intimate settings, free of charge. Litchfield Jazz Camp Faculty Concerts will be held Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from July 12 – 22; Mondays July 26 and August 2, Tuesdays, July 27 and August 3, Thursday July 29 and Wednesday, August 4.  All concerts are at 7:15 pm.  A free will donation will support Litchfield Jazz Camp need-based scholarship students. 

Performers include Litchfield Jazz Camp teaching artists trumpeters Claudio Roditi and Louise Baranger, bassists Mario Pavone, Avery Sharpe and Nilson Matta, pianists Junior Mance, Onaje Allen Gumbs and Peter Madsen, guitarists Paul Bollenback, Dave Stryker and Henry Johnson, drummers Alvin Atkinson, Matt Wilson, Charli Persip and Winard Harper, saxophonists Kris Allen, Claire Daly, Mike DiRubbo, Wayne Escoffery, vocalists Sheila Jordan, Carla Cook, and many more.  See complete faculty listings at

For more info and a complete listing of concert dates, see our calendar page here.

Click here to download a Press Release about this series.

Promotional consideration provided by...


Date Posted: Jul 8, 2010